Summer Recommendations

If, like me, you burn like a crispy motherfucker during summer I have a few suggestions of how to pass the balmy season whilst remaining inside and sun burn free. I will be heading up to Edinburgh Fringe Festival again this year for about a week so any show/company suggestions are welcome and I am doing a show in the final week of August back in my home town; but when I am home I will be indulging myself by reading and rereading lots of plays and books whilst absently watching some films. I thought you may appreciate a few suggestions as it is sometimes hard to find something amidst the dry sea of book shops. At the moment I am reading ”Tis Pity She’s a Whore’ by John Ford and ‘The Lost World’ by Arthur Conan Doyle, both of which I recommend although I haven’t finished them yet.

NOVELS

I am going to re read two books this summer and I am so excited for them because they are two of my favourites. The first book is ‘A Clockwork Orange’ by Anthony Burgess, this is a tricky book to get your head round at first as it is written in ‘nadsat’ which is a sort of slang type cockney esque language I suppose but don’t be put off, this book is a masterpiece and you won’t be able to put it down as it is both beautiful, thought provoking and harrowing. The second book is ‘The Silence of the Lambs’ by Thomas Harris (bit of a theme of ‘book-to-movie adaptations’) now this is a little bit of a slow burner I feel but always worth it, it never fully fizzles and it keeps you on edge all the while.

PLAYS

I am going to read two plays this summer (probably more but this is the minimum) the first of which is ‘That Face’ by Polly Stenham, I have had this play for ages but never got round to reading it. The second play is ‘Mother Courage and her Children’ originally by Bertolt Brecht but this version was adapted by David Hare for the National Theatre in 1995. Both these plays sound promising and I am looking forward to getting my teeth into them and just reading for pleasure rather than desperately hunting for a monologue.

DRAMA BOOKS

This is just a little book I am re reading called ‘The Golden Rules of Acting That Nobody Ever Tells You’ by Andy Newman and I recommend it to anyone who wants to be an actor as it is honest, concise and entertaining. Also it is very pretty inside.

FILMS

Again, two films, two months (ish), probably watched them at least twenty times each already but why not again?! The first is the classic that is ‘Young Frankenstein’ directed by Mel Brooks which is hilarious and so wonderfully silly if you haven’t seen it yet go and buy it immediately and have it on repeat for a week. This film brightens my day without fail. The other is ‘What We Do In The Shadows’ written and directed by Jemaine Clement and Taika Waititi and again it is very funny, it is like a mock-umentary about some vampires and they are hilarious. The film is beautifully made with some amazing sequences so go and watch it.

Well, that should be my summer sorted and I hope you have a few ideas from this for yours. My LAMDA Foundation Diploma recall is tomorrow so I will post about that when I have the result and I am going to the Royal Court bookshop before so if I buy anything interesting I will post about that as well. Over summer I won’t be posting too much other than a little on prepping for whatever happens next year be it LAMDA Foundation or a third year of auditions and a little on what happened in Edinburgh.  Anyway stock up on the factor 50, break out the ice lollies and enjoy your summer 🙂

2 thoughts on “Summer Recommendations

  1. I haven’t read “The Lost World” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – isn’t that the one where a group accidentally happens upon a hidden space in which dinosaurs still live?

    Enjoy your reading, and break a leg in your show in August! (But… not really…)

    1. Pretty much and so far it is great. This is the first Arthur Conan Doyle book I have read but his style of writing is beautiful yet still real.
      Thank you and yeah to literally break ones leg during a show would not be good 😛

Leave a Reply

