Drama School Applications Take 4!

OH MY GOD TWO POSTS IN ONE EVENING?! You lucky bastards! This is definitely not a sign of procrastination.

This is my fourth year applying and this year I feel the most happy with my choices of schools and how that translates into what I love and what I want to do. I really enjoy contemporary theatre, I love it and that is what I want to do. It took me a while to understand as I had it in my head that to be a good actor you had to do classical theatre and be all fancy but fuck it. I don’t care if people think I am a bad actor for making the kind of theatre I want to, or think all I do is fuck about and make weird stuff. That is what I want to do and that is what I want to train in so I can make it exceptionally well.

On that note, I have decided to audition for contemporary or devised theatre courses this year and I am only auditioning for 5 schools in total. I am auditioning for Centrals Collaborative and Devised course, East 15s Contemporary Theatre course (maybe their Physical Theatre one too), Rose Brufords European Theatre Arts Course, Fourth Monkeys Two Year Rep and Royal Scottish Contemporary Performance Practice. I will do an in depth look at the application process for each of these courses later on and of course a detailed review of the days themselves. I have auditioned at Central before and they audition you for all three courses so I know a little about that audition process. I have auditioned at Rose Bruford and Royal Scottish before but not for these courses so I am excited to see the differences in their process.

This is all dependent on getting my personal statement finished in time so I should probably get back on that. Toodles!xx

2 thoughts on “Drama School Applications Take 4!

  1. Toby

    I respect that you know what you want to do. But make sure it’s because it’s what you want to do and not because of past result. This is my fifth and final year auditioning, bare in mind I took a break after my fourth audition…….. a 3-4 year break, I’m 28 now. Needed to find some consistency in my life to give myself the best chance of going to the two schools I want to.

    1. Hey, sorry it has taken me so long to reply I have been busy/distracted. I understand what you are saying and I have thought about this, it is one of the reasons I went back to RADA last year I suppose it was kinda a ‘double check’.
      I have done a lot more research into courses this year and I have done more thinking about what I enjoy and where I want to go with my career. Some of the courses I have applied to before are incredible courses and have incredible alumni doing amazing things but I don’t want to do those things or at least not in the way they are doing them.
      The past two years I have spent doing contemporary theatre, devised theatre and dipping my toe in a variety of styles and teachings has allowed me to realise and pushed me to follow what I want to do and what I enjoy doing.
      It may seem like a bit of a U turn, and on paper it is, but I am trying to follow what I will enjoy spending three/two years studying and will give me the best next point when I graduate to do what I want to do.
      That went on much longer than I wanted it to but I wanted to explain in the best way. Best of luck with your auditions 🙂

Leave a Reply

